Chapter 7 (Summer)

Summer never gave Jason the time to saying anything to her. She immediately brushed past him and headed downstairs. Jason dropped his gifts on the bed, ran into the bathroom to shut off the running water and followed closely on her heels.

“Summer! Baby, please let’s just talk about this!” Summer was moving so quickly that Jason was basically screaming for her to listen. He was extremely worried that if she left without hearing him out, they would definitely be destined for disaster. He had to make it right and he had to make it right at that very moment.

Summer moved at the pace of a lioness preying for her next meal. Her pace was quick and furious.

Summer reached for her keys located in the bowl on the table near the garage door.

“Baby, please don’t leave like this. I’m begging you to please just give me a chance to explain.”

Summer stopped in her tracks with her hand on the doorknob.

“Don’t you dare call me your baby!” She spat out. You have the audacity to bring your black ass in here telling me to give you a chance when you didn’t even have enough common sense to come home after I caught you with that damn middle school girl?

Summer was walking towards him slowly and saying each word through clenched teeth.

“Just give me a chance—-“

SLAP!

“You don’t deserve a chance, or shit else that I have to offer a man for that matter,” Summer shouted, cutting him off.

Jason reached out for her hand, because it was possible that some sort of physical contact would comfort her. Summer smacked his hand away as hard as she possibly could. She looked like a mad woman. The fury in her eyes scared Jason for a split second.

“Don’t you even think about putting your hands on me! I can honestly say that I have no idea where they’ve been.

She walked up so closely to Jason that he could feel her breath on his face.

“You know, sometimes we try so hard to runaway from the inevitable. But the truth is that you are no different than your no-good ass father.”

Jason’s shoulders slumped with the verbal haymaker Summer had just delivered. His eyes welled at the mention of him resembling his father in any shape, form, or fashion. It was bad enough that he thought that very same thing about himself the night before in the hotel room.

Then to hear those exact thoughts spoken from his wife and best friend, tore him down piece by piece.

“Baby please, hear me out! Think about us!”

“Jason are you fucking serious? Think of us? I’m the only one who gives a shit about us apparently! I’ve spent over half of my life making decisions for everyone else except myself! I moved back to Memphis for YOU! I got married for YOU! I had our children for YOU!”  Summer was poking her finger into Jason’s chest with each “you”.

“Then I spent the last twenty plus years making decisions based on what was best for my children! After all of that, this is the thanks I get? You sleep with someone else? I’ve done all of the things that I don’t agree with, and for what? I tried being submissive and cooking dinner every night, keeping a clean house, raising the children alone so that you could work sixteen to eighteen hour shifts. You should have had the courage to just slap me in the face if that’s how you felt.”

Summers voice began to crack as she looked away from Jason. “I gave up everything for you.”

With that, Summer turned on her heels and walked out the door. She hit the garage opener on the wall and got into her Infinity SUV, wanting to get out of there as quickly as possible. She started the engine and began pulling out of the garage. Summer paused in the middle of the driveway long enough to see Jason standing in the doorway looking at her with pleading tearful eyes. For a split-second, she wanted nothing more than to be in his arms allowing him to make this situation nonexistent like he does any other problem in the family. But this time, he was the problem. As she sped off, she wondered if things would be better if he were nonexistent.

Leave a Reply

