Inauguration Business

PD*26374940

Michelle was so proud of her man, she was about to BURST! Doesn’t it look like she’s saying, “That’s right baby! Say that oath! That’s MY man!”?

Guys, I am beyond overwhelmed today. My cup runneth over. My heart is so overjoyed about the events on today. I was reading DMGreen’s blog and almost pumped my fist in the air! We as a nation have truly come a long way. I know that there are so many in our past that would absolutely rejoice over seeing the first black president inaugurated. After reading PaulaSoul’s blog, it made me realize just how much I would have loved to experience this moment with my father, Aunt Deneece, and Uncle Leonard. They would have truly appreciated it. I miss them all so dearly.

I watched the inauguration with my students and there was so little appreciation and more disrespect than I would have liked to experience. They talked and joked while the invocation was being given and while I had my chest puffed out, they almost deflated it! This is our future though. I expected so much more. I’m disappointed. I had to go and get a coke. Dr. Ian would be so disappointed.

I want my kids to remember where they were, how they felt, and what they remember when they describe this moment to their children, grandchildren, nieces, and nephews. Similar to the wave of emotions I felt on 9/11. So many expectations, so little time.

I did have a couple of students to appreciate the history. One student asked, “Why is this the 56th inauguration, but only the 44th president?” Another asked (after we had that question answered)”If a president is serving more than one term, why does he have to be sworn in again?”

I felt as if a few of them were actually learning. If I could have had my way, I would have driven to DC myself to experience it firsthand. Have to remind myself that they are only in 7th grade…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dmgreen80
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 21:37:14

    Wow I can only imagine your disappointment and frustration while watching todays events. It just goes to show that we are in a totally different generation where the children these days don’t care about anything but video games and the latest rap beefs!! I think its down right pityful because had you been showing the “notorious” movie or something similiar to that you would have been able to hear a pin drop!!!

    Reply

  2. Hugh ODonnell
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 03:25:12

    I’m happy and hopeful!

    Reply

  3. coffee
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 07:35:49

    The inauguration ceremony // after party looked like quite a get-together — i’m sorry i missed it

    Reply

  4. brownsugar5
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 17:18:20

    DMGreen: I had to realize (after speaking to some coworkers) that many of our children do not have any exposure. I asked the question in class today, how do you instill morals and pride of one’s country into this generation? I received some pretty interesting answers. Blog about it later. Maybe, I should try to tie in what they know with what I want them to know. For them, Notorious would be history-sad as it sounds. Those are the demographics though.

    Hugh: You and I both! Glad to see you stopped by! Headed your way soon.

    Coffee: Welcome! Welcome! Wasn’t it astonishing?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

