In-house Business

I struggle with knowing what and what not to blog about so that I’m not putting too much in the cyber world. I’m sure I should have run this by Teacakes before posting, but trust me, she’ll state her opinion.

I pride myself on being an approachable, understanding person. Granted, I sometimes have the tendency to make impertinent retorts and I’m learning that when certain words have invaded the ears of others, you can’t take them back. But what I don’t understand is how some people can attack you and stab you in the back when you’ve done absolutely nothing. What makes people point fingers and place blame? What makes people not grow wiser with age? One of my favorite quotes (I may end up doing quite a bit of quoting in the post) is, “It is not by age, but by knowledge that acquires wisdom.” So that explains ignorant old people… I digress. I try to listen to opinions and concerns and take into consideration how they could relate to my everyday life. Be patient , I’m going somewhere with this I promise. If it keeps you interested, I’m speaking about one of my in-laws. The way certain people view you (I did say certain, because most we could care less about) keeps us in check. Just Lisa once told me, “If everywhere you go, everyone is saying the same thing, it might not be everyone else, it might be you.” Deep huh? So I listen and take heed to those that make sense.

Then I realized that a small impressionable group can be infected, you know the saying , one bad apple can ruin the bunch. Well, that’s what happened in my family. Yes, they are in-laws, and as much as I don’t want to admit it, they are still family. The bad apple of the family, which should be the glue that holds the family together infected about five other family members. It was so hurtful and the consequence of her negativity was a huge family blowout! I cannot believe how hateful this particular family member became once she truly realized she could NOT run my household. Because of this “disagreement”, my family (husband and kids) will not be in attendance for holidays and dinners. I just wish that my children didn’t have to suffer from it all. They’re the only victims by not being able to be in the midst of they’re entire family.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tcakes
    Oct 13, 2008 @ 18:55:40

    Lovely post darling, I approve. The kids won’t be a victim if you don’t tell them they are one. They can’t miss what they don’t have.

    I’ll give you a simple one, “misery loves company”. It’s terrible, but there are times when those closest to us are the ones who attempt to pull us down. I have found that the root of it is JEALOUSY! They can be jealous of your happiness, jealous of your family, jealous of your accomplishments, jealous of your drive. You’d be surprised the things they find… I found out a girl was jealous of my voice… I was like, “What voice? I can’t even sing!”

    The only thing this little “blow up” should tell you is that you are doing something right, you are staying on top of the job!

    The End:)

    Reply

  2. alisha9
    Oct 14, 2008 @ 03:21:52

    Welcome to married life!! I would laugh, but that ish ain’t even funny. . .

    Reply

  3. brownsugar5
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 17:48:59

    Tcakes: Thanks! I needed to hear that.

    Lisa: Tell me about it!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

