Kid Business

I have a wonderful three-almost four-year-old daughter that is truly a little ray of sunshine! You would not believe how helpful, caring, and soft-hearted she is. As a black mother (wow, can’t believe I’m saying that), I realize how important it is for your children to see a positive role model and not lose yourself along the way. My daughter is the type of child that wants to be just like mommy, from the lip gloss to the heels! So I try to be cautious of the things I do in front of her. The one characteristic I love about my daughter is her ability to understand one’s feelings, even at her young age! I can tell her that something she did does not make me happy so that she understands why I’m upset rather than lashing out at her. This action alone makes her straighten right up! She does not want to disappoint mommy and it doesn’t take much to get her in line. Now when she needs a nap, that’s a different story. I can admit that the one thing she inherited from her mother was that smart *** mouth, but she never goes too far.

I have just recently given birth to a beautiful baby boy (two weeks ago tomorrow) and man is he amazing! I promise I’m not saying that just because I’m his mom! But he’s so mild-mannered and laid-back. I hope that’s his long-term personality. I was a nervous wreck thinking about how I could love two kids at the same time and care for them both at once and I have to admit that the loving/caring part comes naturally, but being in two places at once is definitely a learning experience!

I mean ya girl was looking like a Glade commercial the other day! You know the commercial of the Octopus cleaning and the baby octopus’ pacifier pops and and it starts wailing from its bassinet with like thirty rattles??? Right! I’m lying in bed (still can’t do much moving around) and nursing my son on the right side, completing puzzles with my daughter on the left, all while telling my husband where to find the Italian seasoning for the spaghetti and meatballs he was attempting to cook! You talking about multi-tasking!
But when the smoke clears, I still have amazing kids. When listening to some of the “kid business” stories from ladies my age, I’m thinking, “dang I would be locked up for child abuse”!

I also have a three-year-old step-daughter (please be on the look out for the baby momma business post hahahaha) and she’s a good kid as well. There used to be a lot of deprogramming going on when she first started to visit. I wanted to be careful with her though, because there were several transitions going on at one time. Both my daughter and step-daughter went from being the only child to having a sibling and my step-daughter also had to inherit another mom. I never show a difference between the two and now she and I are crazy about one another. She’s a good kid that acclimated to my add-water-and-mix family or blended family as society now calls it.

Both of the girls are crazy about their baby brother and he looks at them like he wishes he could click his heels to keep them out of his face! I know I’ve said this a million times, but I love my kids and they are all equally amazing! Just keep me lifted, because you have to know that it can’t be an easy task at my age!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alisha9
    Sep 08, 2008 @ 01:46:24

    Ha! Glade commercial. . . great visual!

    Reply

  2. tcakes
    Sep 08, 2008 @ 13:58:45

    Sheesh!!! I wish it was that easy with E! I told him one day that the way he acted really upset me, he told me, “Mama, be-member (his version of remember) you are a big girl, ok?” So, I have resorted to…well, I’d rather not say anything that could be counted against me in the court of law.

    Reply

  3. tcakes
    Sep 08, 2008 @ 14:00:23

    NOOOO BABY MAMA POSTS!!! I MEAN IT!!!

    Okay, maybe a teeny weeny one won’t hurt. I don’t know, I have to pray about that. You’ve told me a story or two about her.

    Reply

  4. brownsugar5
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 18:49:04

    Alisha: That visual came from the heart!

    Tcakes:Tell E I said one more smart comment and he gone be looking for somewhere else to live! What if I worded my post in the form of seeking advice? LOL, that way I can still keep the peace!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

